Auditions: Day One.

I have to admit, I was a little nervous going into our open auditions this past Saturday.  I really wasn’t sure how it was going to work out.  How many actors would come?  How would the performances be?  It was a little nerve racking to say the least.  Okay, maybe not as nerve racking as performing cold in front of complete strangers nerve racking, but a close second.

But, and here’s the thing, not only did we have a really good showing on Saturday, but we saw some really great performances too.  I was pretty happy with the turn out, and even more so by the quality of the acting.  It would have been much cooler had Channel 5 showed up during the first few hours when the place was hopping, instead of right after our last audition, but I’m not complaining, much.

Do I want to see more actors over our next two audition days?  You bet.  The more the better, but I want the actors we saw this past Saturday to know, especially the kids, that I was really impressed with what I saw.  I mean that.  Really.  You knocked my socks off, and made me one happy producer, that’s for sure.

Not only was I impressed with the acting ability demonstrated, but with the raw courage to show up and perform like you did.  I mentioned it taking courage to share one’s writing in a previous blog, and I still hold to that, but now I know it takes more to stand up on a stage.  I applaud you all and thank you for turning out. Seriously, you rock.

I wish we had a bigger movie so we could cast more of you, but to your credit, you’re making Brandon and my job a tough one.  We’re going to have to make some hard choices, and that’s the best compliment I think we can pay you.

And for those of you who are still interested in auditioning, but didn’t or couldn’t come this past Saturday, you’ve got two more chances.  Wednesday, August 18th at River Arts from 4-8 PM and Sunday August 29th at the Lanpher Library from 11 AM-4 PM.  Come.  We have cookies!  I think the actors who came on Saturday just threw down the gauntlet at your feet, so don’t back down from their challenge.  Now, it’s your turn, come show us what you can do.

Hope to see you on Wednesday.

–Mark

About thedragonwall

The Dragon is a independent short film being filmed in Northern Vermont.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Auditions: Day One.

  1. Rick Vierra says:

    I have been very intrigued with this project ever since Brandon first told me about it. I love the story and cannot wait to see it come to life. I know sending you cookies is not that big, but it what we can do from the sidelines. It’s going to be a great movie, made by a pair of very excited people! Try not to loose a lot of sleep..

    Keep it up.
    Rick
    Tipped Cow Cookies
    Georgia, VT.

Leave a Reply

