We’re Making a Movie!

Obviously, if you’re reading this Blog then you know we’re making a movie.  But, every once in a while, the realization still hits me.  I mean, smacks me in the face, loosens some teeth, hits me.  It’s a good loosening, though.  I have to admit, I kinda like it.

About two months back my daughter is taking swim lessons.  She begins to latch on, literally at times, to another girl her age in the class.  My wife and I get to talking with her mom, and later her dad, they invite us over their place for dinner.  The dad and I get to talking.  He makes movies.  I write stuff.  Things happen.

Now, jump ahead a couple months and here we are with The Dragon Wall.  We’ve got our locations scouted and set.  Equipment and gear?  Check.  Script, nicely adapted from my short story?  Check.  Website?  Check-a-roony.  We’ve got our auditions, working with River Arts of Morrisville, VT, scheduled.  Shooting scheduled?  Check.

And?  We’re story boarding.  Man, are we story boarding.  Probably the thing I have enjoyed most til now has been this process.  Taking our words from the script and making pictures, later moving pictures, from them is…there really isn’t a better word for it…cool.

Now, let me take a breather for a moment and fill you in, for those of you who don’t know me, I like movies.  I like films.  I like (good) TV.  I like good writing.  I love great dialogue.  I like to see a film and then play Monday morning quarterback with it, noting what worked and didn’t, and what I would have done differently.  Now?  I get to do that with a film of my own making, from a story I wrote a little over  a year ago.  Can you say Fanboy-Intoxication-Overload?  I still get goosebumps when I go to the movies and feel like I first did as a kid, sitting in the rough, red seats of the Showcase Cinemas in my home town.  Friends and I used to sing our own made up lyrics to their snack bar theme music. Eating Twizzlers, drinking Mountain Dew, and hopped up on Spielberg and Lucas.

Making this film is, without a doubt, one of the coolest things I’ve ever been a part of.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  We’ve got a long way to go.  See, that’s the cool thing – for you – with this Blog.  We, Brandon and myself, are going to be taking you for a ride with us as we do this.  I know it’s not going to be all fun and competitive recreational entertainment.  It’ll be work.  Disappointment.  Laughs.  Frustration and exuberance.  You’ll learn, with us, as we go.  And, hopefully, when all is done, we’ll have a film to share with you.

That is our over arching goal, after all.  To produce a short film we can enter, and hopefully, show at film fests and conventions in 2011.

Brandon’s film experience and overall vision for this process has contributed greatly to our progress and success thus far, and I quoted a favorite movie of mine early on in response to one of his thoughts.

“You keep thinking, Butch.  It’s what you’re good at.”

Brandon’s response?  “Didn’t they jump off a cliff?”

Mine? “Isn’t that what we’re doing?”

“Totally.”

Stick around, if nothing else, this should be amusing.

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, yeah, that makes me…Sundance.  Yeah.  Sundance.

— Mark

About thedragonwall

The Dragon is a independent short film being filmed in Northern Vermont.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to We’re Making a Movie!

  1. Robin says:

    Go for it guys! Maybe a movie of the blog next?

  2. kim says:

    loving the blog entry! i kinda got chills too! i love a good film and a good process and both seem to be present! and the way it all began with B and swimming lessons and the serendipitous beginning! Rock on Mark! cant wait to hear more!

  3. kim says:

    oh and sundance, good luck sailing off the cliff…

  4. Greg and Nancy Perry says:

    How exciting that we can help! So glad our Coach will fit in the “drive way” so the cast and helpers can be comfortable! Thanks, Mark, for meet with us today. We are happy to help!

  5. Thank you, Nancy, for the use of you Coach. It is a tremendous help, and we’re thrilled to have you and Greg be a part of our movie!

Leave a Reply

